Stuck in a rut

Syd and I have been working on getting into a routine and a nailing down a good schedule/routine.  It may sound easy, but it’s not, you try convincing my 7.5 month old that she needs/wants to nap…it’s hard!  I think we figured it out, but then I didn’t like to deviate from the schedule.

So the schedule is Sydney wakes up around 7-730ish, plays in bed between Mike and I while I try to convince her she wants to close her eyes for a little longer so I can keep mine closed a little longer.  We eventually make our way downstairs to play and eat breakfast (eating’s a whole post unto itself) until nap time about 1.5 hours after she has woken up (8:30-9ish).  Lately, the morning nap hasn’t been more than an hour (hopefully she’s not phasing this one out, the longer she keeps the one the better) up for 2 hours (eating and more playing and sometimes a quick errand or two in this time slot), then nap, usually for about 1.5-2 hours, but this one seems to be getting cut short too! She wakes up and then takes a catnap around 5ish wakes up again eats dinner, has a bath and goes to bed for the night…Sounds lovely, except the days when she doesn’t want to stick to the schedule…

I left her with Mike this weekend and he didn’t stick to my schedule and when I got upset he tried to convince me that it’s OK to get deviate from the schedule.  That we can’t live and die by the schedule or what fun would life be?  We should be able to enjoy Sydney and our time with her instead of fitting her into a schedule and you know what?! He’s actually right! So today, I just went with it and we had a pretty good day, I did try to stick to a loose schedule, but she ate and napped and was generally really happy and giggly all day!  So I learned that at the end of the day it’s nice to have a loose schedule of events, like I know we need 3 naps (2 short and 1 long) and that we need 3 meals, but it’s not the end of the world if it doesn’t happen at exactly the time I want it to, I am trying to learn to sit back and enjoy the ride!

Do any of you stick to a schedule?  Are you rigid about the times or are you generally satisfied as long as certain things are done like 3 naps and 3 meals?

Leave a Reply

