Got Sleep?

I know that before Sydney was born I was hoping that I would get a good sleeper, Mike and I both love to sleep so doesn’t that mean we should be blessed with a baby who likes to sleep??

For the first few weeks we were lulled into a false sense of security, because basically all she did was eat, sleep and poop.  We had to wake her for feedings until she was 6 weeks old…after 6 weeks she slept for 12 hours at night with one middle of the night feed.  God we were getting a lot of sleep back then and we were lucky, I know many people who were not so lucky.  Looking back I think from months 0-3 we were less sleep deprived than in months 3-7.

Fast forward to 3 months when I returned to work…our sleep schedule got all messed up! Syd still slept for the 12 hours but was waking up 2 times a night – once in the middle of the night and once at 6 AM to nurse before I ran out the door.  I would wake her up for this feeding so that she wouldn’t wake up starving for Mike.  It has been this way since she was 3 months old, she is now 7 months old and still waking at least 2 times a night to eat…   I am told this is not normal, I am told I must change this, but for some reason I can’t seem to convince her that she doesn’t need to eat an extra 2 times a night! I stuff her full of solids and milk before I put her down too!, but to no avail, she still wakes up and won’t go back to sleep until she eats!  I dream of a full night of sleep, one that consists of more than 4 hours at a time!! It’s not the getting her to go sleep portion that we have trouble with either, we seem to have worked that out, she can put herself to sleep.  I even managed to do that without employing the “cry it out” method.

Now that we aren’t in “survival mode” (doing whatever we had to do to get sleep, while I was working), I’m think this is going to be the first thing on my to do list (see earlier post about feeling accomplished), I am going to convince Sydney she can sleep through the night!! Wish me luck! *please note that I do not want to use the cry it out method because I feel that it will cause increased anxiety as an adult (I am already anxious enough, which I’m sure she picks up on, so anything to minimize anxiety is important)

What are your experiences with sleeping through the night?  If you did the middle of the night feed what did you do to drop it?

Leave a Reply

